"God doesn’t pay your Mortgage."

Well that’s what my neighbour said in our conversation (paraphrased below) about whether I’d bought my lottery ticket.

Neighbour: “Have you got your lottery ticket?”

Me: “No.”

Neighbour: “Why not?”

Me: “Don’t need one.”

Neighbour: “You must be loaded then!”

Me: “No.”

Neighbours: “God doesn’t pay your Mortgage.”

Me: “He does.”

Neighbour: “Ehh??”

Me: “Well he’s given me my job.” (Implied – my salary covers the mortgage payments.)

Neighbour: “Well, that’s a different way of looking at things!”

My neighbour’s statement isn’t incorrect either – God’s bank account isn’t directly paying my mortgage lender for me.

However, I do believe God exists and that through his word in the Bible certain fundamental principles apply to [my] life.

  1. Matthew 6:28-34 “…and your heavenly Father knows that you need them.”
      • God hasn’t given us life, or put us in our situation without considering how to resource us.
  2. Ephesians 2:10 “For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”
      • Though the Bible doesn’t say specifically where I will live, or what job I will do; God’s plan for my life is in operation.
  3. 1 Timothy 6:7 “For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it.”
      • Our sphere of control is limited and has boundaries. However understanding who God is; and why he wants to relate to us, gives shape and form to the situation and reality in which we exist.
  4. John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”
      • My life will end one day, however I won’t. As Jesus came to tell us that there was more!

Just so you know, life is still hard, I get things wrong and make mistakes. But God is there and can be trusted and that makes the difference.

References from http://www.biblegateway.com/ in New International Version.

Technorati Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

